End of the Year

30 Dec 2008

Well, I'm now setting up the final recording project files for each song and I'm ready to start recording the guitars and bass for the next album. Shouldn't take too long anymore. The final tracklist is also forming up, with only some minor changes in a few places.

And as usual, here's my Top 10 albums for the year. If you haven't heard these, give 'em a listen. Really nice stuff, at least for me:

01. Opeth - Watershed
02. Darkspace - Dark Space III
03. The Amenta - n0n
04. Amon Amarth - Twilight of the Thunder God
05. Scar Symmetry - Holographic Universe
06. Gojira - The Way of All Flesh
07. Arcana - Raspail
08. Black Comedy - Instigator
09. Misery Index - Traitors
10. Qntal - Translucida

And as for gigs, I've got a few threads running and we'll see how they work out. There's also going to be a gig at a festival in Liminka, and they're threatening to make us the headliner ;) Should be fun then.

Have a nice year now.

No more CDs from The Ground

17 Dec 2008

Okay, just to inform you that The Ground is no longer selling CDs. From now on you can only get digital music at their store. And for some reason FLAC has stopped working there.

In other news, I'll start recording the final tracks for the next album sometime next week.

Preproduction almost finished

9 Dec 2008

Alright, I've finally chosen which songs to include on the album and now it is time to go through their project files and finalize the songs, especially the drum programming. There's 11 songs in total, clocking in at about 48 minutes in length. The premise (and sound) is quite futuristic, but I need to finish the lyrics before I can tell more about the story.

This baby is a lot faster than Deep Beneath, and colder in that Demanufacture or Tonight's Decision way. The sound is more space-y with often multilayered melodies. We'll see what comes to be when the vocal arrangements are done...

Here we are!

1 Dec 2008

Finally the site is back! And as you can probably see, with a brand new disguise. Anyway, I finished up one of the incomplete songs (The Wolves) by adding a completely new kickass evil chorus and a nice, fast-paced second riff. Now the song definitely kicks ass, should be a fun live song. So that leaves just two songs to splice and dice, and then the album will be ready for recording! Maybe even before giftmas...

Some updates

30 Nov 2008

There's a bit of a hassle at the domain side of things, so you can't see the new site yet, but it is done. I'll upload it in a few hours, but the domain won't probably be fixed until tomorrow.

And in other news, I think I'm done writing songs for the next album. There's 11 finished songs at 48:20 and two incomplete ones that I need to arrange + one extra electronic/industrial one that may also be our intro tape at live shows. So it should be interesting. The songs are quite a bit faster and more melodic compared to Deep Beneath, and I think the vocals will also have more variety, since Matti has been learning some new stuff.

Anyway, I think I'll start recording the songs near the end of this year and then start working on the lyrics as usual. Then it's time to record the vocals, probably in February or March 2009, and from there on it takes some time to finish the mix and then do a CD print.

See ya.